Earlier last month in a Jacksonville court, a 34-year-old man was sentenced to 20 years in jail after he was convicted of leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death. According to one local news source, the accident took place back on November 10 of last year, at around 12:35 in the morning.
Evidently, the victim was a 37-year-old man who was riding on a scooter in the outside lane of Normandy Boulevard, near Stratton Road. The rider of the scooter was struck from behind by a Nissan Pathfinder. After the collision, the driver of the Pathfinder allegedly failed to stop and check to see if the accident victim was in need of emergency medical treatment.
It wasn’t until a few hours later that the man called Florida Highway Patrol and turned himself in after explaining what happened. As it turned out, he didn’t have a valid driver’s license at the time of the accident.
The man pleaded no contest to the charges against him and was sentenced to 20 years in jail as a result of his conduct.
Hit-and-Run Accidents in Florida
Not only is fleeing the scene of an accident involving serious bodily injury or death reprehensible on a moral level, but it is also illegal. In fact, under Florida law it is illegal for a driver to leave the scene of an accident resulting in serious bodily injury, even if that driver was not the one who was at fault in the collision.
Specifically, Florida law requires that anyone who is involved in a crash resulting in injury or death stop as close to the accident as practicable and do the following prior to leaving the scene:
- Provide name, address, and registration number of the vehicle being operated;
- Show the other driver their driver’s license, if requested; and
- Render aid to anyone injured in the accident, including making arrangements for transportation to a hospital if necessary.
Not only can a violation of this law result in criminal sanctions, but it can also give rise to civil liability on the part of the fleeing driver.
Hit-and-Run Lawsuits in Florida
Since fleeing the scene of an accident is specifically enumerated under Florida law as illegal, it makes recovering in a civil proceeding much easier for an accident victim. However, as is the case in all personal injury cases, proper preparation and adherence to the rules and regulations is mandatory in order to preserve an accident victim’s potential right to compensation. To learn more about Florida accident law, contact a dedicated Florida personal injury attorney.
Have You Been Injured in a Florida Hit-and-Run Accident?
If you or a loved one has recently been injured in a Florida vehicle accident, you may be entitled to monetary damages. The Dean Firm has decades of combined experience in Florida personal injury law and knows what it takes to be successful in Florida courts. To speak with an experienced personal injury advocate who has years of experience bringing cases against negligent drivers, call Dean Law Firm at 352-387-8700.
More Blog Posts:
Deerfield Beach Accident Involving Car and Pick-Up Truck Kills One Child, Injures Several Others, Ocala Injury Lawyers Blog, published June 15, 2015.
Walgreen’s Pharmacy Facing Several Claims of Pharmacy Errors, Ocala Injury Lawyers Blog, published May 18, 2015.